Kundalini awakening

Outward manifestations

1. Tremors, shaking or convulsions. For me, this began gradually, first noticed as an uncontrollable tremor which caused my head to shake rhythmically back and forth, even when I was lying down.

2. Rhythmic, jerking, spasmodic or graceful involuntary movements. These are called kriyas and mudras and may be mild and infrequent or very vigorous.

3. Nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea. Many of these symptoms come on suddenly, and last a short while, a few minutes or hours or a day or two, then just as abruptly, they vanish.

4. Unusual breathing patterns, cessation of breath for short periods. This is known as automatic pranayama.

5. Reddening, blackening and loss of toenails or fingernails.

6. Skin cracking or peeling (or turning red).

7. Skin eruptions: blisters, warts, cysts. pimples or boils.

8. Loss of hair; hair standing on end.

9. Weight changes (which may or may not correspond to food intake).

10. Nose bleeds.

11. Menstrual changes (more or less pain than usual, lighter or heavier bleeding, longer or shorter cycles). Women undergoing Kundalini awakenings often find that the symptoms intensify during the time of their periods.

12. Compulsive running,  automatic dancing or automatic posturing of the body (often in yoga asanas).

13. Involuntary vocalizations (or inability to speak).

14. Increase in metabolism, causing weight loss, faster growth of hair and nails.

Sensory manifestations

1. Sensation of great heaviness in the body. I felt as though hundred pound weights were hanging from all my limbs and an elephant was sitting on my chest.

2. General physical weakness, partial paralysis. For me, this symptom occurred in the early months of my process, in the wake of the sensations of heaviness in my body. My ankles turned to rubber and my feet dragged and flopped sideways when I walked. My arms became increasingly useless and it was hard to move my fingers. I couldn’t pick up small items, and I had no gripping strength. Just trying to hold a spoon was a formidable feat. I became so weak I could no longer lift my arms. At the crux of this condition, I was a bedridden invalid, unable to use my hands even to dress or feed myself. My walking was reduced to a faltering shuffle.

3. Exhaustion, fatigue (sleeping most of the day).

4. Insomnia, hyperactivity. If for an extended period, this manic phase may lead to temporary psychosis.

5. Dizziness, faintness, blacking out.

6. Muscle twitches, cramping, aching or spasms.

7. Prickling, tingling, itching or vibrating sensations on or under the skin.

8. Numbness in the limbs.

9. Pain in the solar plexus, sensation of being ‘punched in the stomach’ (especially when confronted by fear, anger or manipulation by others).

10. Sensations of extreme heat or cold. (The heat may be detectable by others.)

11. Pain in the spine or back. This can be severe and crippling. Although it is not common, in my case, when the Kundalini became active in my spinal column, I suffered a ruptured disk that kept me flat on my back in bed, unable to move, for over four months. I felt a bubbling, liquid sensation in my spine that one healer thought might be the movement of my spinal fluid. At times it felt as if my spine were disintegrating. Sometimes I felt sharp pains and internal blockages that felt like chunks of broken glass in my spine. When the Kundalini becomes active in the central channel of the spine, there are usually pulsating, ticking, throbbing, thumping and strong energetic feelings in the lumbar and tailbone region. Powerful energy may rush through the spine. One man said it felt like a locomotive running through him.

12. Feeling or hearing cracking, tearing, popping in vertebrae, joints and tendons (or in the brain).

13. Headaches, intense pressure in the head.

14. Constriction around the throat. Swallowing difficulties or convulsive swallowing. My throat stopped working altogether. When I tried to eat, the muscles that contract in swallowing simply refused to move. It was as though my swallowing reflex had somehow short-circuited. I found myself gagging and having to spit out the food. I could only get down liquids, which depended more on the pull of gravity than the cooperation of my throat muscles.

15. Pressure in the chest, breathing problems.

16. Stabbing, ripping or burning pain in the chest, ‘heart attack’ type symptoms.

17. Heart palpitations, rapid pulse.

18. Shooting pains throughout the body.

19. Fluctuations in appetite (from none to voracious hunger), craving certain foods.

20. Tremendous surges of ‘electricity’ and/or vibrating energy in the system.

21. Pain in the eyes, increased sensitivity to light, dimming of vision.

22. Eyes ‘bursting out of sockets’, rapid eye movements (visible to others), poking, pulling, tugging sensations in eyes. In my case, I felt a horrifying sensation that felt like toothpicks stabbing into my eyeballs. Later, I endured weeks of furious movements of my eyeballs, which even occurred in my sleep.

23. Heat or energy radiating from the ears.

24. Tongue spasming or curling backward into throat. When I developed this tongue-spasming symptom, it made my speech difficult at times, and I would slur my words or bite my tongue when talking. I also experienced blisters on my tongue. When the tongue curls backward into the throat, there is a tendency to gag. This seemingly bizarre and alarming phenomenon is actually a well known positioning of the tongue in yoga, the kechari mudra.

25. ‘Migrating’ tooth aches (sometimes all teeth aching at once).

26. Acute increase in hearing, taste, smell, touch or vision.

27. A sensation of being about to disintegrate or explode.

28. Feeling of being ‘out of body’ or expanded into an energy field.

29. Sensation of changing size (growing larger or smaller).

30. Conflicting needs: feeling hungry and full, tired and agitated, overheated and cold at the same time.

31. Abrupt drops in blood sugar (these can lead to some of the mental and emotional symptoms described below).

32. Floating sensations, actual levitation.

33. Swirling or spinning sensations.

Psychological problems

1. Confusion, temporary amnesia, mentally blanking out.

2. Uncontrollable weeping spells, sometimes without definite emotional content.

3. Outbursts of temper.

4. Feelings of great neediness and clinging to others.

5. Sudden episodes of anxiety, fear, rage, grief, guilt, etc.

6. Depression, despair, hopelessness.

7. Aggressive and hostile behaviour. Very rarely does this carry through to actually harming others.

8. Exaggerated fears, paranoia.

9. Feelings of impending doom.

10. Terror of, or longing for, death.

11. Deluge of memories of events from our past.

12. Ideas of self-aggrandizement, interpreting our process to mean that we are now specially appointed saints, messiahs or extraterrestrials on a mission from God. (Self-inflation).

13. Altered states, episodes of psychosis.

14. Terror of going insane, frightening thoughts or visions.

15. Disgust and anger with ourselves, the human race, God, the universe.

16. Difficulty dealing with the way others are being affected by the higher vibration of our energy (People seem to be inordinately magnetized to, or repelled from, those in transformational processes.).

17. Agoraphobia, panic attacks. These are often the result of psychic hypersensitivity.

18. Alienation from the external world, emotional flatness.

19. Extreme introversion and retreat from worldly contact.

20. Losing faith in everything.

21. As miserable as it can feel to go through any (or many) of these experiences, it has always helped me to remind myself that others have endured these same difficulties in their awakening processes.

22. It has been a relief to me to know that these symptoms aren’t indications that something has gone terribly wrong with my process. None of these things are fun to undergo, but all of them can be a natural stage in our inner unfolding.

By El Collie

 

2 thoughts on “Kundalini awakening

Leave a Reply

